Deutsch English Español Français

Navigation

News

Products

FAQ

References

Company history

Contact

Dates

Downloads

Legal

 

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Exhibitions

What is pre-treatment?  

Plastic surfaces are naturally non-polar and not readily wettable. When painting, printing, adhesively joining or applying any kind of coat, this can lead to poor adhesion of the coating material on the surfaces. Poor printing definition, peeling of the paint or lack of adhesion of a joint can be the result. To avoid this the surfaces must be treated prior to coating. There are various options for this: mechanical treatment, such as roughening or sand blasting; chemical treatment, such as washing or the use of bonding agents (primers). These methods require the use of chemicals. The waste products (often hazardous materials) have to be disposed of, which is time-consuming and costly. This is the reason why the physical pre-treatment methods like Corona, Plasma or flame treatment under atmospheric pressure are gaining in significance.  They are cost-effective, can be used in-line, have low operating costs and do not require waste disposal.
 

 
How does the physical treatment with corona, plasma and flame under atmospheric pressure work?  

The effect of these methods is based upon generating a plasma. While it is generated in the corona or plasma treatment in a non-thermal way through an electric discharge, with flame treatment the plasma is formed in the hot flame. Activated molecules and atoms (essentially oxygen) in the plasma are bound into the surface and generate polar groups there. Colour, paint or adhesive molecules can bind to these groups. The treatment effect becomes apparent in an increased surface tension. An increase in surface tension is coupled in almost all instances with improved adherence.
By adding gases or precursors it is possible to activate the surfaces more specifically. By adding a
Silane compound (arcosil® process) lit is possible to generate very thin silicate layers (only a few nanometres thick) that have very good adhesive properties. This reduces in particular subsurface moisture ingress, providing possible corrosion protection.
 

 
Which pre-treatment method is best for me?  

In principle it can be said that almost all common plastics, such as PP, PE, PA, PMMA, ABS, PC etc can be treated with all three methods (Corona, Plasma, Flame). Rather, the application areas of the different methods are governed by other factors, such as:

The application itself:

Coating of small areas or large areas

Due to the shape of the part to be treated:

Flat surfaces or highly structured surfaces, thin films or thick sheets, what kind of height differences are on the surfaces? Do all surfaces have to be treated or certain areas only?

Situation on site:

What is the best way to move the surface to be treated through the plasma flame? Factors like plant speed, cycle time, handling of the component, ability to integrate into existing production line etc are all playing a significant role.

Heat sensitivity of the material to be treated

Which method provides the best solution for your application should always be individually tested.
 

 
Can surfaces other than plastic also be treated?  

Yes, besides the activating of plastic surfaces it is also possible to treat metal and glass surfaces. In this instance the cleaning action of the plasma flame plays an important role. Surfaces that have been contaminated during the manufacturing process can be subjected to detailed cleaning, which becomes apparent in an increased surface tension. Any fat or oil can be burned, vaporised or baked in. Adherence to the surfaces is improved.

This should always be tested in individual instances.
 

 
Where can I get my samples tested?  

With more than 300 square metres in size the Arcotec GmbH laboratory provides all facilities to find the best solution for your process. Our team of physicists, engineers and technicians will always design the most efficient and practical application for you.
 

 
What advantages does Arcotec GmbH provide?  

Because we have 35 years of experience in the field and are the only manufacturer of all three methods of physical treatment under atmospheric pressure (Corona, Plasma, Flame) we will always provide you with the best solution for your application, not just any.
 

 
ICE Europe
Munich
March 21 - 23
 

BondExpo
Stuttgart
October 09 - 12
 

Fakuma
Friedrichshafen
October 17 - 21
 

InPrint
Munich

November 14 - 16
 

© Arcotec GmbH | Arcotec GmbH | Rotweg 24 | D-71297 Mönsheim | Tel.: +49(0)704492120 | Fax +49(0)7044921212
Errors and omissions excepted. Products are similar to illustrations.

Deutsch English Español Français

Navigation

Aktuelles

Produkte

FAQ

Referenzen

Firmengeschichte

Kontakt

Termine

Karriere

Downloads

Impressum
 

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Messen

Was ist Vorbehandlung?  

Kunststoffoberflächen sind von Natur aus unpolar und schlecht benetzbar. Dies kann beim Lackieren, Bedrucken, Verkleben oder ganz allgemein beim Beschichten zu schlechter Haftung des Beschichtungsmaterials auf den Oberflächen führen. Schlechtes Druckbild, Absplittern der Farbe oder ein Lösen der Verklebung können die Folgen sein. Um dies zu vermeiden müssen die Oberflächen vor der Beschichtung vorbereitet werden. Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten: mechanische Bearbeitung, wie Aufrauen oder Sandstrahlen; chemische Vorbehandlung, wie Waschen oder Verwendung von Haftvermittlern (Primer). Bei diesen Methoden muss mit Chemikalien umgegangen werden. Die Abfallprodukte (teilweise Gefahrgut) müssen aufwändig und kostenintensiv entsorgt werden. Deshalb gewinnen die physikalischen Vorbehandlungsmethoden Corona-, Plasma- oder Flammvorbehandlung unter Atmosphärendruck immer mehr an Bedeutung.  Sie sind kostengünstig, in-line-fähig, haben niedrige Betriebskosten und benötigen keine Abfallentsorgung.
 

 
Wie funktioniert die physikalische Vorbehandlung mit Corona, Plasma oder Flamme unter Atmosphärendruck?  

Die Wirkungsweise dieser Methoden beruht auf der Erzeugung eines Plasmas. Während es bei der Corona- oder Plasmavorbehandlung nichtthermisch durch eine elektrische Entladung erzeugt wird, bildet sich bei der Beflammung ein Plasma in der heißen Flamme. Aktivierte Moleküle und Atome (im wesentlichen Sauerstoff) im Plasma werden in die Oberfläche eingebunden und erzeugen dort polare Gruppen. An diese können sich die Farb-, Lack- oder Klebstoffmoleküle anbinden. Der Vorbehandlungseffekt zeigt sich in einer Erhöhung der Oberflächenspannung. In fast allen Fällen ist mit der Oberflächenspannungserhöhung auch eine Haftverbesserung verbunden.
Durch Zugabe von Gasen oder Precursoren können die Oberflächen noch spezieller aktiviert werden. Durch Zugabe einer
Silanverbindung (arcosil®-Verfahren) lassen sich sehr dünne, nur wenige Nanometer dicke Silikatschichten erzeugen, welche sehr gute Hafteigenschaften aufweisen. Hierdurch wird insbesondere die Unterwanderung mit Feuchtigkeit reduziert und ein Korrosionsschutz kann erreicht werden.
 

 
Welche Vorbehandlungsmethode ist für mich die Beste?  

Prinzipiell lässt sich sagen, dass sich fast alle gängigen Kunststoffe wie z. B. PP, PE, PA, PMMA, ABS, PC usw. mit allen drei Methoden (Corona, Plasma, Flamme) vorbehandeln lassen. Die Einsatzbereiche der Methoden werden vielmehr durch andere Dinge vorgegeben wie:

die Anwendung selbst:

Beschichtung kleiner Flächen oder großflächige Beschichtung

durch die Form des vorzubehandelnden Teiles:

Ebene Oberflächen oder stark strukturierte Oberflächen, dünne Folien oder dicke Platten, welche Höhenunterschiede sind auf den Oberflächen vorhanden? Müssen die gesamten Oberflächen oder nur bestimmte Bereiche vorbehandelt werden?

örtlichen Gegebenheiten:

Wie kann die vorzubehandelnde Oberfläche am besten durch die Plasmaflamme bewegt werden? Hier spielen Maschinengeschwindigkeit, Taktzeit, Handling des Teiles, Integrierbarkeit in vorhandene Produktionslinien usw. eine wesentliche Rolle.

Wärmeempfindlichkeit des vorzubehandelnden Materials

Welche Methode eine optimale Lösung für Ihre Anwendung bietet, sollte im Einzelfall immer getestet werden.
 

 
Kann man abgesehen von Kunststoff auch andere Oberflächen vorbehandeln?  

Ja, neben der Aktivierung von Kunststoffoberflächen können auch Metall- und Glasoberflächen vorbehandelt werden. Hierbei spielt die Reinigungswirkung der Plasmaflamme eine wichtige Rolle. Im Herstellungsprozess verunreinigte Oberflächen können einer Feinreinigung unterzogen werden, die sich wiederum in einer Erhöhung der Oberflächenspannung zeigt. Die Fette oder Öle können verbrannt, verdampft oder eingebrannt werden. Die Haftung auf den Oberflächen wird verbessert.

Dies sollte im Einzelfall immer getestet werden.
 

 
Wo kann ich meine Muster testen lassen?  

Mit über 300 qm bietet das Labor der Arcotec GmbH alle Möglichkeiten um die optimale Lösung für Ihren Prozess zu finden. Unser Team aus Physikern, Ingenieuren und Technikern erarbeitet für Sie immer die effizienteste und praktikabelste Anwendung.
 

 
Welche Vorteile bietet die Arcotec GmbH?  

Mit über 35 Jahren Erfahrung und als einziger Hersteller aller drei Methoden der physikalischen Vorbehandlung unter Atmosphärendruck (Corona, Plasma, Flamme) bieten wir Ihnen immer die optimale und nicht irgendeine Lösung für Ihre Anwendung.
 

 
ICE Europe
München
21. - 23. März

 

BondExpo
Stuttgart
09. - 12. Oktober
 

Fakuma
Friedrichshafen
17. - 21. Oktober
 

InPrint
München
14. - 16. November
 

© Arcotec GmbH | Arcotec GmbH | Rotweg 24 | D-71297 Mönsheim | Tel.: +49(0)704492120 | Fax +49(0)7044921212
Änderungen und Irrtümer vorbehalten. Produkt Abbildungen ähnlich.